I’m Speechless (is this a first?)

13 01 2008

Wow. Just wow. My older sister and her husband gave me one of the coolest gifts I might have ever received for Christmas. Seriously. I’m speechless at how amazing this little tool really is!

 Cuisinart Hand Blender

I made a batch of butternut squash soup tonight, usually this involves me transferring boiling soup from the pot to the food processor then to a different bowl and back to the pot in about 3-4 batches. This usually takes about 20 minutes and is VERY messy. Last time I did this I spilled the soup during the transfer and burned the crud outta my hand. Well, Shar, Jake, you have saved my hand and about 30-45 minutes! The entire blending process took less than 3 minutes. And cleanup? Oh, 45 seconds. YOU RULE!

You just drop it in your pot of boiling goodies, turn it on, and blend away (be careful, the motor is quite powerful). This model happens to come with a chopper and whisk attachment as well. All super compact and hardly takes up any space in my kitchen cabinets.

I tried a new variation of my soup tonight, it was better than my original!

Butternut Squash Soup

1 (3 1/2 – 4lb) Butternut Squash
Olive oil
3 Tbsp butter
1 Leek (white part only, chopped)
4 tsp fresh ginger, minced
4 cups chicken stock
3/4 of an 8oz block low fat cream cheese
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
3/4 tsp ground cayenne pepper (or to taste)
1/2 tsp ground marjoram
add sea salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
cilantro
creme fraiche

Split and seed the squash. Lay split squash face down on an oiled cookie sheet. Cook in oven at 400 for about 45 minutes, or until flesh is tender with a fork.

Let the squash cool and scoop out the meat, throw out the skin.

In a soup pot, melt butter. Cook until tender, but not brown leeks and ginger. Add squash, chicken stock, cinnamon, nutmeg, cayenne, and marjoram. Bring to a simmer and let cook, stirring occasionally, breaking up squash for 20 minutes. Add cream cheese just prior to next step of blending.

Insert immersion blender (YAY!) or puree mixture in food processor or blender and add back to pot.

Top soup with roasted seeds, creme fraiche, cilantro or whatever your heart desires!

Notes: I also have used ground ginger for lack of remembering the actual fresh root at the store, I just cut the amount in half. I always love to rinse the seeds, coat them with olive oil, sprinkle them with sea salt and dry them out for an hour at 200F. They are delicious sprinkled on top of the soup!

Happy girl with my hand blender (and listening to kplu via my new under-cabinet radio while I cook):

Soup!

Actions

Information

7 responses

15 01 2008
melissa

hmph.
what about your address stamper? didnt i save you a lot of time?
(:
only kidding.
can i have some soup?

15 01 2008
pam

Ok now where might one find that little gadget. You know I’m a gadget person. That looks pretty clever. I’m tempted to try the recipe (and I might) but if it’s anything like the soup you recommended at NM I might think twice about it.
So Melissa, you say there is an address maker? Lets see it Kim. I might like that as well.
Kimbo, I’m so glad you have a blog. That way I feel a part of your life. Thanks. Love you.

16 01 2008
lpod

Oh, yes! I forget you have a thing for gadgets. This is the best kitchen gadget ever! You can pick one up at Bed Bath & Beyond (don’t forget your 20% off coupon). For some reason they are on backorder everywhere online, but our store had a few in stock. Go get one!

And Mel, I love my stamp. I’ve been stamping stuff all over the house. I just can’t show it on the blog, you know, that whole Internet safety stuff says you shouldn’t post your full name and address 😀

16 01 2008
Martha

Pam may never get over the soup you suggested we try from NM–actually none of us ever will!

20 01 2008
thegarrisonfamily

I want one! SO cool! And thanks for the recipe! I love new recipe’s – keep em coming!

21 01 2008
billy

i can’t even pronounce half the stuff in that recipe!

21 01 2008
melissa

PAM!!!! dont buy it at bed bath and beyond!!!!! i got the exact same one at Sam’s for $20 less than bbb!!! ($29) what a deal!
i made cauliflower soup and spinach artichoke dip yesterday — WOW!!! this tool really does make it soo easy! a lot less to clean when done and it is fun!
kim, we should be charging cuisinart for all this free publicity!

Leave a Reply

