Should we have a virtual bake-off?

21 01 2008

Ok, I just made some reeeeeally tasty Chocolate Chip Cookies, but I know some of my friends and mothers have some killer ccc recipes. I know I’m out on a limb, but they might be some of the best I’ve tasted (the close compare would have to be Pam’s, which I haven’t tasted in so long, I just can’t remember).

Once again, Allrecipes.com really comes through with their…

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies
“Crisp edges, chewy middles”

Cookies!more cookies!

1 cup butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons hot water
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350°F

Cream together the butter, white sugar, and brown sugar until smooth. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Dissolve baking soda in hot water. Add to batter along with salt. Stir in flour, chocolate chips and nuts. Drop large spoonfuls onto ungreased pans.

Bake for about 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until edges are nicely browned.

Actions

Information

7 responses

22 01 2008
melissa

i think i looked at that recipe one time…but have not tried it! i definitely will! i tried all recipe’s “best brownie” recipe last night. they were very yummy….different than that box mix that i usually use….but yum yum!

22 01 2008
Melanie

Kim – I love that you are such a cook. Cooking is one of my favorite hobbies, and I LOVE allrecipes.com. I will have to share some great recipes with you. Maybe I will start posting on my blog – good idea!!! Don’t have a good chocolate chip one, though. Hope all is well!
Melanie

22 01 2008
Jessica

allrecipies should really have my chocolate chip recipe on their website. they don’t know what they’re missing.

one big hit…Costco’s vanilla with bourbon. AMAZING to bake/cook with.

22 01 2008
Martha

Pam has definitely been the chocolate chip cookie queen for many years. So how about if everyone send me a dozen or so of their best chocolate chip cookies and Happy Joe and I will be the judges! Just kidding, of course!!

23 01 2008
Pam May

O my gosh. My mouth is actually watering. I’ll just have to take my sick grandson out today to HEB and get the ingredients. He won’t mind because it will make his mommy happy when she comes to pick him up. O Kim that is not a good thing to do to me. My next post will be a picture of mine. I’ll have to find a way to show them off.

23 01 2008
Pam May

O O I just had to take another look!. So good. Ryan is sleeping. Perhaps I’ll wake him up. We have a trip to the store to make. I must pray about this. I do love Ch. chip cookies a little to much. Well maybe a lot to much.

25 01 2008
Jessica

Kim, my mom just baked a bunch of cookies for Cindy, and i guess she wasn’t too proud of them (they were a little flat…but tasted good). hee hee. I was sure she would have taken a picture. But, nope. Probably b/c she has to care for my son.

Leave a Reply

