Sleepless Friday Night

28 09 2008

Scott and I were uninterested in sleeping on Friday night. So, at midnight we started in on making a homemade tomato quiche for Saturday morning’s breakfast. Now, I am not known for my baking skills. I love to create in the kitchen, but baking is just too precise for my tastes – so the pie crust and I are known mortal enemies. Lucky for me, Scott was well trained by his Granny on how to make a delicious pie crust. We worked together on this one.

With my recently homemade tortilla making, I figured my dough rolling capabilities were as honed as they are gonna get. Not too bad! I certainly can’t roll and shape like my mom, but that’s a skill that I may never have.

Next is slicing and prepping the tomatoes. I sliced the homegrown tomatoes and lightly dusted each with flour, salt & pepper. I then sauteed them for about a minute per side to soften them a little bit.

After the maters were nice and soft, I put some cheese at the bottom of the pie crust and then added the tomatoes topped by the the egg beater & milk mixture.

Top with a little more cheese and left it in the fridge over night. We woke up in the morning and tossed the quiche in the oven for 40 minutes or so and had an absolutely delicious homemade breakfast. Thanks to my barista, we also had yummy coffee.

Recipe…

Sleepless Friday Night Tomato Quiche
Granny’s Pie Crust
1 1/2 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup shortening
3 Tbsp cold water (added one at a time)

Mix flour & salt together. Add shortening to mixture using Scott’s knife method or a pastry knife (please don’t ask me to explain this, I so don’t get it). Add cold water one tablespoon at a time until dough is no longer sticky and forms a ball.

Roll out dough to fit a 9 inch pie round. Place dough in pie pan and bake at 400° for 8 minutes. While cooking the pie crust, prepare the filling:

Tomato Quiche
Extra virgin olive oil
4 regular tomatoes, sliced
All-purpose flour
3 eggs (I use egg beaters)
1/2 cup milk (I used non-fat)
1 1/2 cups colby-jack cheese, split
1/2 cup parmigiano reggiano
salt and pepper to taste

Heat olive oil in large skillet. While waiting, slice tomatoes and sprinkle flour, salt & pepper on one side. Saute tomatoes (floured side down) and sprinkle 2nd side with flour, salt & pepper. Only saute one minute per side. Whisk together eggs & milk. Fill prepared pie crust shell with 1/2 of the colby-jack cheese. Layer in the tomatoes. Top with milk & egg mixture, salt and pepper to taste and remaining cheeses.

Bake at 400° for 10 minutes and reduce the temperature to 350° and bake for another 30-40 minutes or until lightly browned and puffy. Yum!

Actions

Information

10 responses

29 09 2008
Jessica

I’ve got to get Rod, Ryan and I up there. I’m almost at two free flights on SWA, so i think we should use them to see you guys. I just want your food and your coffee. And, I want Ryan to see Seattle.

29 09 2008
melissa

mmmmm….yall are cute! love you! see you sooooo verrrrry soon!!!

29 09 2008
Shar

Hmmm…if you & Scott turn to quiche-making when you can’t sleep, Abby is going to have to wait a long time to have Lovejoy cousins… 🙂

29 09 2008
Daddyoleo

Seems like a lot of work to me… shoot… I got a whole box of them little tiny ones in the freezer… much easier to eat. Goes good with a box wine…

30 09 2008
pam

O what fun you Krugers are : I’m going to your parents house sat. night with Jessica just to laugh. And you can make something too. Like Ch. chip cookies. Only if you want too. You are baby sitting Ryan? We’ll be over asap we can to visit with you Kimbo. I’ll only stay a short minute or two or three but would love to see you. Dominos? did I hear someone say dominos???

30 09 2008
Daddyoleo

No…No…Noooo… not Domino’s Pizza…

Domino’s the game… you know… little polka-dot rectangles…

You Cheerleaders and your pizza eating contests…!!

30 09 2008
Daddyoleo

No…No…Noooo… not Domino’s Pizza…

Domino’s the game… you know… little polka-dot rectangles…

You Cheerleader MOMS and your pizza eating contests…!!

2 10 2008
stacy

Ohh sista!! That is tooooo fun:) you two are so cute and i just love hearing the fun things y’all do together! enjoy those moments!

2 10 2008
Martha

We still have to have that chocolate chip cookie bakeoff sometime!!!

5 10 2008
courtney g

Kim, for real…that was beautiful…yall are so fun and creative, you should have a reality show! Wait, then you’d get wierd and your marriage would fall apart…okay, lets just stick with the site and keep us updated so we can all marvel at yalls skills in the kitchen 🙂

Leave a Reply

