Thanks Texas Monthly?

25 07 2009

This month’s glossy mag dedicated to the big great state highlights the 50 best burgers in the state. Well, hmmm. They royally screwed up. They left out Chris Madrid’s! Who does that? The comments on the blog post are comical. I think Chris Madrid’s gets mentioned in 90% of the comments. Maybe it’s better marketing for the best burger ever. There, I said it. EVER!

I’m in this weird habit of laying in bed in the morning and checking my work email on my phone. It’s my way of knowing what I’m going to face before I actually have to get up and face it. Saturdays are good because I check goofy stuff like Facebook. This morning I caught more than a few rants about the Texas Monthly article. Instantly, I needed nachos. Chris Madrid’s style nachos.

So…for breakfast this morning, I made breakfast nachos! I was just going to do bean and cheese and Scott suggested we throw some eggs on top. Why not, right? I mean, who eats nachos for breakfast anyway? The result: “this has to go in our regular weekend breakfast rotation” vote from Scott. They were great!

Ingredients:
4 fresh corn tortillas
vegetable oil for frying
4 eggs
refried beans
shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese
1 serrano pepper
fresh salsa

Preheat your broiler to high.

Preparation:
Heat a couple tablespoons of oil in a frying pan over medium-high heat. Place tortillas in hot oil, one at a time, and flat to make a “tostada” (you Texans don’t even need to be reading this part, you know how to make homemade taco shells and tostadas). After it’s hardened a bit, 2-3 minutes, flip the tortilla to make a crisp shell.

During tortilla frying; shred your cheese, heat your beans, slice your serrano (if you don’t like peppers disregard), and scramble up your eggs. Place the crisp tortillas on a baking sheet and spread the refried beans down to cover it. Place approximately one scrambled egg on each tortilla. Cover with cheddar cheese. Sprinkle your serrano pepper on the top.

Put in the oven on broil for 3-5 minutes until the cheese is bubbly and tostadas have a few brown spots on them. Watch it carefully, the broiler acts fast! Dip in fresh salsa and have fun.

Only one quick snap before devouring them…

Breakfast Nachos 021

breakfast nachos - eggs, fresh tortillas, refried beans, cheese, salsa!

Now I think I need a trip to San Antonio to get a Tostada Burger…I won’t ever try to replicate that here, there is no way I could do it ANY justice.

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 07 2009
Pam

You have got to be kidding me? It’s late at night and I’m in bed at Stacy’s house in CA and am wondering how I’m going to get an egg nacho or a tostato burger tomorrow. Or a late night snack. I’ll have to give up the late night snack or I’ll have two little rug rats right behind me at 2am. Sleeping with one and we are buddies and would have to enjoy the late night together.
Stacy and I have read this and we have decided to give the Chris Madrid tostato buger a try tomorrow. Never make the Madrid grade but we’ll have at least given it a try and perhaps give a toast to the burger in honor of the best burgers ever.
Then when I get home I’ll warn Chesley that we are going to Chris Madrids for dinner tuesday night for dinner.

26 07 2009
lpod

Pam, I’m dying to know if you made breakfast nachos or you and stace are going to try for a tostada burger! It sounds sweet that you were sleeping with one of the girls. You are a great nama!

29 07 2009
daddyoleo

Mom and I may have to get the real thing… mmm…

Leave a Reply

