Garden In Bloom

5 08 2009

This post is for Pam & Chesley, and anyone else who is interested in our vegetable garden. Our garden is all along the south side of our house. We still have a raised bed in the back yard in a sunny spot, but to prevent disease, we did not plant tomatoes, potatoes, or peppers in the same bed this year. Not to mention this side yard gets incredible sun.

There is a sidewalk all the way down the center, and each side gives about 18″ to 2 feet of space and about 45 feet long, not too wide, but I figured I’d give it a try this year.

Garden In Bloom 016

looking into the garden from the front yard

Last year, my tomato plants got to be about 8-9 feet tall, but I didn’t get very much fruit. So this year I did A LOT of pruning as the plant was growing. My tallest one is about 5 feet tall. Two of them are growing along the fence line and are more wide than tall as I have them on a fence like cage. Those two are producing the most fruit  by far. Below is the one on the house edge in the cage. The tallest plant, but with only about 5 pieces of fruit as of this morning.

Garden In Bloom 018

mr. stripey tomato plant

You can kind of tell this one is on a fence style cage and is spread out across about 4-5 feet and about 4-5 feet tall.

Garden in Bloom 003

black prince tomato plant

I also have some Serrano Peppers & Habanero Peppers growing. The serrano plants are producing like wildfire, the Habanero won’t pollinate, but has a healthy amount of blooms. I tried manually pollinating, but I still don’t think that has worked. BEES, please come play here!

Garden in Bloom 012

one serrano pepper

The potatoes (you saw my first harvest on Sunday) are really thriving. You can even grow those in a box if you need. It turns out this 18″ wide bed is perfect for one row of potatoes.

Garden in Bloom 013

purple potato farm (some plants still flowering)

And…as requested…the watermelon. It has about 5-6 new flowers every day, but I haven’t seen any fruit yet (no, I so don’t go out there 3 times a day to check ;)). Supposedly 35 days after seeing fruit you will have a ripe melon. You never know if our summer will hang on that long, so, we’ll see! All in all, this plant is about 12 feet long. I received a recommendation the other day to cage it up, so we’ll see how that works (or if I get to it).

Garden in Bloom 005

far right end of plant - taking over the basil

Garden in Bloom 006

mid-section of plant - taking over yellow dahlia

Garden in Bloom 007

mid-section of watermelon plant

Garden in Bloom 008

more of the mid-section -- right where the roots are

Garden in Bloom 009

getting to the left end of the plant where it takes over the carrots

Garden in Bloom 010

far left end of plant

Yum. Can’t wait to keep harvesting through the summer!

Actions

Information

6 responses

5 08 2009
Daddyoleo

Hey… I don’t see any weeds. You guys do a mean garden. Looks great.

5 08 2009
Martha

I didn’t know you had your garden in the side yard this year. Good use of space. I love your cosmos in the front corner!

5 08 2009
Martha

I just looked back at the second picture and spotted your hydrangea near the jeep. Wow! That was such a puny little bush the last time I saw it! Lots of blooms! Are the ones we planted in front of the house that pretty?

5 08 2009
lpod

Mom, glad you like my Cosmos, I planted them because of you and Mel! You wouldn’t believe how big and beautiful the hydrangeas are now! I will take a pic and send them to you privately. The blooms are all burnt to a crisp and I’m embarrassed of them 😦 they did NOT like the weather last week.

6 08 2009
Aunt Sue

Wow, Kim, your green thumb is amazing! I love reading your posts and visiting your home & garden virtually.

7 08 2009
Pam

Wow I love having a blog post dedicated to me! You clearly know much more then we do about gardening. And all along I thought CE knew it all!!!!

Thanks so much for showing us your garden. I love seeing the watermelon vines. You will have to keep an progression photo shot of the fruit.

I don’t want to make light of your 103 degree week but if you want to see what heat does to a garden or grass or flower beds, come back to TX. We are what most people up north used to think of TX, dirt dust and dry.

Again I thank you for the post. I love seeing the “everything” Keep us up on the futrue produce. I love it.

Leave a Reply

