Happy Monday Morning

10 08 2009

The heat wave forced an insanely huge (and early) blueberry harvest last week. This means good things for consumers of “boo boos” in terms of the price of berries. Most people went out in droves to the local farms to “U-Pick” their blueberries, but I was busy (see post from last night). At the market today, I got 3 pints of locally grown blueberries for $3.99. Yeah! I have a tiny corner of my kitchen available to me, so I needed something easy to do and decided to make some blueberry muffins. I’ve never made them from scratch, but they really aren’t much more challenging than opening the box and dumping them in. And you can’t beat fresh berries in muffins.

Blueberry Muffins
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1/3 cup milk
1 cup fresh blueberries

Preheat oven to 400°. Grease muffin tin or add muffin liners.

Combine flour, white sugar, salt, baking powder in a large bowl and set aside. Place vegetable oil in a 1 cup measuring cup, add egg to cup, and fill with milk until it reaches the 1 cup mark. Mix with the flour mixture. Fold in blueberries. Fill muffin cups to the top and sprinkle with streusel mixture.

Bake 20-25 minutes.
Makes 12 muffins.

Streusel
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup butter, cubed (room temperature)
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Mix all ingredients together, smashing the butter into a crumbly mixture.

Notes: I found the streusel mixture to be waaaaaay too much, so I think I would reduce it next time. If you use all of the mix on only 12 muffins, I think the muffins would fall. Next time, I will make them with fat-free buttermilk (I used skim regular milk on these).

Blueberry Muffin

muffin top giving me muffin top

Hope you had a tasty breakfast this morning as well!

Actions

Information

5 responses

10 08 2009
melissaksuess

mmmmm yummy! i just got blueberries….i wrote the recipe down and will make them tomorrow morning! thanks kimbo d.

10 08 2009
Martha

Yum!! Looks really good! Good thing I’ve already brushed my teeth or I would have to go eat something.

10 08 2009
Pam

O Man Kim, you’re killing me! Guess I’ll have to somehow get some blueberry muffins either bought or homemade. probably bought. Won’t be near as good as your’s. Yummy.

11 08 2009
Aunt Sue

Wow, I’ve got to try this recipe—looks delicious!!

12 08 2009
Pam

OK so I’m back to look at the blueberries muffins. So put me in cyber jail. I just had to take another look at them and pretend I was about to take a bite out of it.

Leave a Reply

