Nie mowie po polsku!

19 11 2009

Hello from Wrocław, Poland! Well, I’m cheating. I’m actually back in Munich, but I only just got here and took a bunch of pictures on my way to the airport in Wrocław. This city is one I would definitely want to return to on vacation. It’s charming, has a lot of culture, and the people are very warm (even as you attempt but butcher their language).

My hotel was just 1/2 block to the office, so I had some extra time this morning and wandered around a bit. I was located in the city center, a very modern business park with malls (Zara and H&M in the same mall, whoa…my pocket book is lucky I was there for only 18 hours) and beautiful office buildings. Then you happen upon scenes like the below. They almost feel abandoned and oddly peaceful (that could be my delirium from no sleep too though).

nothing to say about this

Driving in from the airport, I saw a lot of buildings that show what I had imagined Poland to look like. Huge, square, plain. Blah. But the closer you get to downtown, the more ornate and detailed the buildings become.

central wroclaw

The Wroclaw Opera House was built in the 1800s. That is relatively young for many of the buildings in Europe, but old to this person who lives in a city that is barely pushing 150 years old!

wroclaw opera house

We were watching tons of people set up the Christmas markets in town! I’m so sad to miss it, it looked promising for so many neat little purchases. The market is set up on the many cobblestone streets (no cars allowed) of Old Town. I took this picture of City Hall, in gothic brick.

fourteenth century wroclaw city hall

This is “Old Town” which is the historic part of the city. It is just a giant square of cobblestone streets where no cars are allowed and all of the buildings look like this. I’d say this was the equivalent of 20 city blocks? So cute.

old town wroclaw

The below set of buildings were by far my favorite.

charming, tall, and skinny. who me? ha!

But, somehow, they all seemed fake to me. I took a lot more pictures, but thought I would spare you guys from them.

evening in the square

This series of statues really caught my attention. I loved how it was done and how people just sort of walked through these frozen walking people. I took several pictures of the statues, but this one (that was going to be a throw away because of the lady) ended up being my favorite. The contrast of the older woman walking amongst the frozen people was perfect to me!

Update: This statue has been kind of haunting me all afternoon, so I did a little research. There are 7 people “emerging” from the earth as part of a full statue called “anonymous pedestrians” – representing fourteen people who disappeared during the introduction of Martial Law in 1981. The other 7 people in the statue are on the opposite side of the street – they go down into the earth. So much of the art in these two cities (Timisoara & Wroclaw) painfully represents the <insert word – it’s impossible to put this into words> life the people of these countries have led. Makes metake a step back and appreciate where and how I grew up. Blessed.

contrast

I am sitting in my hotel room watching Germany’s version of American Idol, eating goulash and having a Bitburger from room service. Life is pretty good. Especially since I’ll be here for more than 24 hours! Yippeeee! Hopefully more to come on Munich tomorrow evening.

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 11 2009
Martha

You’re amazing that you can gleen so much information and history from each place you’re in in such a short time. Very interesting–especially the statues.

20 11 2009
Daddyoleo

I am fascinated by the statues.

Leave a Reply

