Strawberry Bread

14 04 2010

Do you ever get sucked into the sales at the grocery store? TWO containers of strawberries for $4? I mean, why would you by one at $2 when you can get two for $4? Bah. Every time. I have the best intentions of the smoothies I’ll make, fruit salad for lunch every day…. Without fail, one of them is left to rot before I get to it and I start feeling guilty for wasting food AND two bucks.

This evening, I was stewing on the couch about that container of strawberries in the back of the fridge. While stewing, I surf the web. I came across a recipe for strawberry bread. I think someone wanted to make sure those berries were eaten! I whipped up a couple loaves of the bread. It’s a winner! We each had a slice for dessert this evening and plan to have some for breakfast too. It’s really tasty.

lazy iphone picture - not the best quality

Strawberry Bread
source: allrecipes.com

2 cups fresh strawberries
3 1/8 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups white sugar
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/4 cup vegetable oil (i think i’m going for apple sauce next time)
4 eggs, beaten
1 1/4 cup chopped pecans (oops, forgot to add these even though i chopped them)

  1. Preheat oven to 350°. Butter and flour two 9×5 inch loaf pans.
  2. Slice strawberries, and place in a medium sized bowl. Sprinkle lightly with sugar, and set aside while preparing bread mixture. (i forgot to sprinkle with sugar, and the berries were plenty sweet – they didn’t need it)
  3. Combine flour, sugar, cinnamon, salt, and baking soda in a large bowl; mix well. Blend oil and eggs into strawberries. Add strawberry mixture to flour mixture, blending until dry ingredients are just moistened. Stir in pecans. Divide batter into pans.
  4. Bake for 45-50 minutes, or until tester comes out clean. Let cool in pan on wire rack for 10 minutes. Turn out on rack and let cool completely.

I enjoyed a slice warm with a little soft butter. It was perfect. I can’t wait for breakfast!

Actions

Information

5 responses

14 04 2010
melissaksuess

i fall for it too!!!!
i usually cut them up in to slices and put in freezer zip locks … perfect for smoothies. i do this with mushy blueberries too. perfect for smoothies or muffins or pancakes…whatev!
do you think i could use my frozen strawberries for this bread? i just froze them a couple days ago.

14 04 2010
lpod

I think you could use frozen berries! I would defrost them first and drain off any liquid so the bread doesn’t get soggy or have too much liquid when cooking. I looked through a few comments to see if anyone did and didn’t see any. Give it a try and tell us about it!

PS – you are so better than me. I just end up putting them in the yard waste. My freezer is too full. I should work on that. Next weekend’s project? 🙂

15 04 2010
Martha

Kim–just wondering if the reason the recipe tells you to sprinkle the strawberries with sugar is to make them liquidy more than to sweeten them??

15 04 2010
sue

Sounds delicious—do you have any idea as to if whole wheat flour could be substituted? Also, what is the calorie count? And any modifications for high altitude? Thanks, Julia Kim!!!

18 04 2010
lpod

Mom – you are probably right, I hadn’t thought of sweating the berries. This is why I am a cook, not a baker :). They were pretty over-ripe, so maybe they just didn’t need the sweating or softening.

Sue – I would totally try it with WW flour, I bet it would be just as tasty! As for calorie count, I can’t say. It’s fairly high in sugar. If you click open the link (allrecipes.com) you can see some people’s reviews – MANY decreased the sugar and oil a little bit to help with that. Like I said, I think I’ll try to sub applesauce for some of the oil next time too to reduce the fat/calories. I might also go for the reduced sugar amounts too to see how it turns out. I’ll be sure to let you know if I give it a try soon.

Leave a Reply

