Steel Cut Oats

12 07 2010

…in a crock pot???

I’d heard some buzz about this about a year ago and just kind of blew it off. But I’ve been starting my morning conference calls ridiculously early lately and seem to stop finding time for a healthful breakfast. Last night, I decided to give this whole crockpot oatmeal a whirl.  I love the idea of oatmeal, always have. But in execution, I get squeamish about it being slimy. Or crunchy. Or just bleh. Scott loves to make steel cut oats on the weekend, but they take about an hour to prepare — and who has that kind of time? And really? I still don’t love them. Even topped with tons of brown sugar.

Anyway, I gave this recipe a go in an attempt to give myself some heart healthy, nutrient rich breakfasts this week. The little growing one would sure appreciate that over the Lemon Snickerdoodles that call my name around 10am.

Crock Pot Steel Cut Oats
1 cup steel cut oats
4 cups water
1/2 cup milk (or half and half)
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 Tbsp butter
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 Tbsp cinnamon
1 Tbsp granulated sugar (I think I could leave this out next time)
Note: you could also add a cup of dried fruit or a whole chopped apple, etc

The key to making this not crunchy nasty is sort of a double boiler effect! Mix all of the ingredients together in a bowl that will fit inside your crockpot. Place bowl inside crockpot bowl and pour water around it (I started with some water already in the crockpot so I didn’t have to add too much and risk a spill into the oatmeal bowl). The water should come as close to the rim of the oatmeal bowl as possible. Place on low for 7-8 hours. Have delicious breakfast when you wake up and be fueled for the day!

ready for the day now!

Result? I loved it. It’s actually the best oatmeal I’ve ever had (except maybe the oatmeal at the Sheraton breakfast buffet in Anchorage, AK – yes, totally random. It could be because I always got reindeer sausage to go with it too?). I topped mine with a spoonful of brown sugar and tons of raw walnuts. Scott just sprinkled walnuts on his and also loved his. It was excellent! I will definitely put this in the routine for weekday breakfasts!

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 07 2010
Sharla

Yum. I actually bought a smaller sized crockpot not too long ago entirely for the purpose of making steel cut oatmeal overnight, but the instructions in the crockpot said not to leave it unattended while cooking. What? I know some lawyer probably made the manufacturer put that line in the warnings, but, really! So, for the principal of the matter, I returned the crockpot. Maybe I should reconsider?

22 07 2010
melissa

i just wrote this recipe down and am going to try it for tomorrow morning! YUM!
thanks!

Leave a Reply

