Fresh Focaccia

9 08 2010

Is there much in life better than home made bread? Sometimes, I really hesitate when I answer that question. Of course. Family! Friends! Beautiful nature! But mmmmmm… home made bread. My aunt, Sue (aka Aunt Shue) is really great at forwarding recipes she thinks I will like and sent me a recipe a few months ago for Focaccia with fresh oregano and asiago (I used parmigiano reggiano). Sold.

I made it several weeks ago and the camera I was using was broken, so I got no photos. BUT … I made it again last week and have a new camera. I’m still figuring it out and lost patience with hot bread in my kitchen, so the pics aren’t great. The bread? Awesome. Scott claims it is better than the one of our bakery’s (Specialty’s – the place with out of this world cookies you probably tried if you came to our wedding) focaccia. So here, is the recipe:

Oregano and Asiago Focaccia
(vegetariantimes.com April 1, 2008)
Prep Time: 20 minutes
Rising Time: 2 1/2 hours
Cooking Time: 20-25 minutes
Total Time: 3 hours 10 minutes

1 1/2 Tablespoons roasted garlic olive oil, plus more for greasing bowl
4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3 Tablespoons finely chopped oregano
1 Tablespoon whole leaves oregano (for sprinkling on top of dough)
2 Tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 Tablespoons salt (I use a little less than 1 Tbsp and find this is plenty)
1 1/4 ounce package of rapid rise yeast
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 cup grated asiago cheese (I subbed in parmigiano reggiano, a favorite in our house)

Rub large bowl with roasted garlic olive oil. In another large bowl, combine flour, chopped oregano, sugar, salt, yeast and dried oregano. Stir in 1 2/3 cup warm water, and continue to stir 2 minutes (dough will seem wet and sticky). Transfer to prepared bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and let rise in a warm place for 1 to 1 1/2 hours, or until doubled in bulk.

Line baking sheet with silicone baking mat or parchment paper and spray with cooking spray (I brushed with olive oil as I don’t have cooking spray handy). Stir cheese into dough. Transfer to the baking sheet and spread to edges of pan with wet fingers. Brush top with roasted garlic olive oil, and sprinkle with whole oregano leaves. Let rise one hour or until dough is level with sides of pan. Preheat oven to 450°F. Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until the top and bottom are brown. Cool 20 minutes on wire rack before slicing and serving (yea, right. it never makes it 20 minutes in my house).

dough is rising

Thank you aunt Shue for the delicious recipe! It is officially in regular rotation in our house!

warm, bubbly, slightly cheesy bread

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 08 2010
Martha

I want some!!!

10 08 2010
Sue

You’re welcome! It looks delicious! You are such an amazing cook, Kim!
Aunt Shue

Leave a Reply

