Nectarine Cake

24 08 2010

This is gonna blow a few of you away. I am from south central texas, I should LOVE peaches. But guess what? I don’t love peaches. The fuzz just does me in and makes my tongue feel icky. Enough so that I can’t see past it to truly enjoy the sweetness of that perfect musky fruit. I’m fortunate that God invented nectarines. Yes, they are a little more tart than a peach, but that smooth skin makes them the perfect summer fruit to me. I did a little digging for what I could do with some nectarines and decided to give this recipe a try, it was suuuuuuuper tasty! I will make it a couple more times before summer’s end.

Ingredients
1 cup all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
Rounded 1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
1 Tablespoon Turbinado sugar, for sprinkling on top of cake (i actually used baker’s sugar crystals because I didn’t have turbinado)
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
2 nectarines, pitted and cut into 1/2-inch-thick wedges
1/2 teaspoon grated nutmeg

Directions
Preheat oven to 350°F with rack in middle. Lightly oil 9″ springform pan.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, cloves, and cinnamon.

In a large bowl, beat butter and 3/4 cup sugar with an electric mixer until pale and fluffy. Add eggs 1 at a time, beating well after each addition, then beat in extract. At a low speed, mix in flour mixture until just combined. Spread batter evenly in pan, then scatter nectarines over top. Sprinkle the turbinado sugar on top.

ready for the oven

Bake until cake is golden-brown and top is firm but tender when lightly touched (cake will rise over fruit), 45 to 50 minutes. Cool in pan 10 minutes. Remove side of pan and cool.

no peach fuzz in my cake

I loved it on it’s own, it’s a little savory with the cinnamon and nutmeg. Scott said it would have been perfect warm with some vanilla bean ice cream. Regardless, it’s a hit in this house! Yum.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 08 2010
Sue

I never knew that you don’t like peaches!!! Re the fuzz, peel them 1st & NO fuzzy feeling tongue! The cake looks delicious—you are such an amazing cook!

29 08 2010
chocki

I’m taking this! It was so yummy – nom, nom.

Leave a Reply

