Brown Butter Cookies with Sea Salt

19 09 2010

I think I’ve mentioned this before, but I’m a fan of more savory foods than overly sweet. I love my frites, I love anything salty and will have an occassional slice of cake or a cupcake and savor the sugar. So when I saw this recipe, I knew I had to make it. Scott rolled his eyes at me and prepared himself for another savory dessert when all he wants is chocolate cake or oatmeal raisin cookies.

Brown Butter Cookies with Sea Salt
makes 2 dozen cookies
1 cup salted butter
2/3 cup brown sugar
1 Tablespoon sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 1/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
Sea salt

In a small sauce pan, melt butter on low to medium heat, stirring occasionally, until browned (about 15-20 minutes max). Stir in sugars and vanilla and remove from heat. Let the sugar mixture cool to room temperature.

In a mixing bowl, mix flour and baking powder. Stir in sugar/butter mixture until combined. Let the mixture rest for an hour to let the flour absorb the butter (oops. totally forgot this part and mine turned out great). The mixture may be stiff and crumbly afterwards. If so, you can microwave handfuls of it for 10 seconds to make it easier to roll.

Roll 1″ balls of dough and sprinkle with crushed sea salt. Bake at 325° for 15 minutes.

Try to eat just one. I dare ya.

savory and sweet cookie tower

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 09 2010
Daddyoleo

If I had one I would eat it… I don’t have one.

20 09 2010
Sue

Wish I had one….I’m impressed with the balancing act in the picture!

Leave a Reply

