Four Months

1 02 2011

hey guys. guess what? i'm four months old!

mom keeps taking pictures of me. i love my chair. but i'm tired of this orange shirt.

i like to spice it up and pretend the chair is full of hot coals. don't put your feet down!

no. seriously. don't laugh at me, you can't put your feet down!

oh, aaaaaaaaaaaah, one dropped!

whew. they are back up. that was close.

at my 4mo checkup, my doctor told me i was a thriving, healthy baby. she told mama to stop swaddling me (hooray, i'm so tired of the straightjacket look).

she also said mama could stop feeding me when i'm half asleep at 11pm.

eeeeeeeeek. STOP for a minute. she said what?

but...but...i'm just going to waste away. mama, doctor lady, didn't you hear???

oh hi. this funny thing keeps popping up into my face.

whoa. there's two of them! when did those get here? feet are funny.

oh, hey. check out the fan! fans are hilarious. especially if they have lights on them.

what was i saying again?

mama. you are nuts.

remember, feet up! no touching the chair!

didn't you HEAR the doctor? tall and slender! don't I look skinny to you?

i'll probably just have to eat my hands if you won't feed me at 11 anymore.

oh. hey! there's another foot. i wonder how many i have?

feet up folks!

seriously mom, i'm wasting away. don't cut out the feeding.

please?

Carter went in for his four month check up this week. He is growing well, at 27 1/2″ and weighing 17 pounds. Apparently he’s a light weight and only in the 75th percentile for weight. We all thought he was a tank, but he’s got some room to grow if he would like. 🙂 He’s rolling over from front to back and is a champion tummy timer. He makes new sounds every day and is always keeping us laughing. He sleeps great at night (knock wood), but isn’t a huge fan of napping during the day. He’ll do it, but not for long.

He’s started “hugging and kissing” me when I’m burping him. He’ll put his arms around my neck and put his face on my cheek with his mouth wide open and burrow in. I have no idea if he’s actually kissing me or thinking my cheek might be a source of milk, but I love every second of it. The minute he sees his daddy his whole face lights up and he gives the biggest grin. Scott said it well when he said Carter smiles with his whole body. He squinches up his knees, tucks his head and his eyes light up. He loves his O ball. In fact, one day he held on to it for 4 hours straight. All the way through a nap and a feeding. He’s that way with a lot of things. My hair. My earrings. My shirt. He doesn’t like to let go of things easily. Just after he turned three months old, he started laughing. At just about anything…but he really loves it if you scare him a little (but not too much because then you get the face crumpling cry and it will make your heart so sad). Weird kid.

We are having so much fun with him and are simply amazed at how quickly he is growing up.

Actions

Information

3 responses

4 02 2011
Mimi

Precious Carter, you are too cute. If you’re hungry at 11:00, you let your mommy know. We don’t want you growing up scrawny! Luv and miss you!!

4 02 2011
PopPop

Moose – Tell your Mom you need the 11:00 feeding… got to bulk up… you are down to the 75th percentile ! Do some rattle curls to bulk up the bicepts too… girls like that.

Your feet… ahhh… they are very fast… some times it seems like you have more than two.

Maybe one of these days you can get a chair with a bottle holder… you know a recliner… it would be good for game day… and you can put your feet on the part that pops out… it’s made for feet.

5 02 2011
Aunt Sue

Great blog, Kim…loved reading about precious Carter…hey, Carter, good job keeping away from those hot coals! Love you!!!

Leave a Reply

