Sunday Supper: Chipotle Sloppy Joes

10 04 2011

We have a confession to make. Between the three of us, we have eaten five hamburger buns tonight. I forgot to buy some at the store for our dinner and didn’t want to go back. So I made my own. Oh my. While they require rising time, they are so ridiculously easy. I will do my best to make homemade from now on (unless you want to bring me some from Fuddruckers). SO, so good. The sloppy joes were good too. But the buns!

I made the sloppy joes from a recipe I found on myrecipes.com. I found them to be tasty, Scott didn’t enjoy the nostalgia as much. Maybe because he was blinded by the goodness of a homemade bun? I also made some homemade potato chips seasoned with sea salt, chili powder, and garlic powder. I LOVE Sunday Supper!

I even took a picture, but sadly, it’s a big blurry mess. So…no picture. But you know what a sloppy joe looks like, right?

sloppy carter joe

Yeah. We are experimenting with new foods. Not sloppy joes + homemade buns for him QUITE yet. Just rice, prunes, oatmeal, and avocado. Anyone want to come do diaper duty for the next few days?

Oh, sorry. That’s so gross of me to talk about during Sunday Supper. Let me get on with it!

Chipotle Sloppy Joes
(adapted from myrecipes.com)
1 dried chipotle pepper
1 pound ground sirloin
2 Tbsp tomato paste
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1 8 ounce can no salt added tomato sauce

Soak the chipotle pepper in hot water for 30 minutes to an hour. Stem, seed and mince the pepper.

Brown the beef in a skillet over medium high heat. Add chipotle, tomato paste, salt, cumin and tomato sauce. Mix together and let simmer for 3-5 minutes until well mixed and heated through. Serve over toasted hamburger bun.

Hamburger Buns
borrowed from King Arthur Flour
3/4 to 1 cup luke warm water
2 Tbsp butter
1 large egg
3 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour (I appropriately used King Arthur brand)
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/4 teaspoons salt
1 Tbsp instant yeast
3 Tbsp melted butter (for topping)

Mix and knead ingredients until they form a soft, smooth dough. I mixed mine in a stand mixer and then kneaded with the dough hook for 6 minutes. Turn dough into a greased bowl and let rise for 1 to 2 hours, or until almost doubled in bulk. I put mine in the oven with the light on because our house tends to be a tad drafty. Scott proceeded to turn the light off for me (so helpful!), but they still rose fine.

Gently deflate the dough, and divide it into 8 pieces. Shape each   piece into a round ball; flatten to about 3″ across. Place the buns on a lightly greased or parchment-lined baking sheet, cover, and let rise for about an hour, until noticeably puffy.

Brush the buns with about half of the melted butter.

Bake the buns in a preheated 375°F oven for 15 to 18 minutes, until golden. Remove them from the oven, and brush with the remaining melted butter. This will give the buns a satiny, buttery crust.

Try not to eat every single one of them in one sitting. Include non-bun-eating-baby in count of people consuming buns so it sounds like you only had 1 bun + a few bites of another.

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 04 2011
Daddyoleo

Hey Moose… looking good. I can see you have some love handles there… man after my own tastes. Love handles have aways worked for me too.

I know those sloppy joes looked and smelled good. Maybe soon your cookie will let you have some of the buns. There is lots of new tastes and flavors to learn about.

11 04 2011
pam

MAKING YOUR BUNS FROM SCRATCH???? Because you didn’t want to go out again. O man, That sounds wonderful! You are the chef!

12 04 2011
Mimi

Seriously, Kim. Pam’s right! Making your own buns? Yum! But I’m still running to HEB for my buns–unless you want to come make some. Miss you!!

Leave a Reply

