Octopus Chickpea Salad

23 04 2011

Ok. Don’t let yourself get tied up in the name. Or the main ingredient.  Hear me out. I tried a salad similar to this at a mediterranean restaurant a few weeks ago. I’ve been dreaming of it since and wondering how I could recreate it. Today, at the market I thought I’d ask the fish monger if he had any octopus. Sure enough, he did! I grabbed a small package (one leg was about $4.50). I had everything else I needed at home.

The goal was a side dish for grilled steaks. A little surf and turf, I suppose. Scott & I both loved it, but I think the recipe needs some tweaking to be exactly what I was looking for! The carrots should be softened some, but not too much…so maybe blanch them? The dressing could use a little more sea salt and some coriander. But, here’s the recipe if anyone feels like being adventurous in the kitchen! It’s a really tasty salad.

If you’re squeamish about the octopus, it’s not bad at all. It’s firm, kind of like cooked shrimp. If you didn’t know it was octopus, you wouldn’t even think twice about it! It doesn’t smell “fishy” or really like anything. It’s just really tasty!

Octopus Chickpea Salad with Cumin-Lime Vinaigrette
1 small-medium octopus leg (about 1/4 pound), sliced into bite size pieces
2 medium carrots, sliced diagonally
1/2 of a 14.5 ounce can chickpeas

Dressing
1/6 cup fresh squeezed lime juice
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground smoked paprika
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

Mix the octopus, carrots and chickpeas in a bowl. Whisk the ingredients for the dressing together in a separate small bowl. Pour desired amount of dressing over seafood mixture.

Note: the dressing recipe makes far too much for the amount of seafood. I will use my leftovers on salads this week!

octopus chickpea carrot salad with lime cumin vinaigrette

Actions

Information

3 responses

24 04 2011
pam

NO, Don’t tell me so!!!! Can’t go there! Take me back to the home made hamburger buns. 🙂
You need to send in a video to the Chef show. Casey is going to. How cool having both of you on TV.

24 04 2011
pam

Wait, do you really mean like Octopus, the one that has a bunch of arms or legs that live in the ocean. ????

25 04 2011
Mimi

Sorry–no can do!! Yuk! But it does look pretty! Once more I ask, who’s child are you?

Leave a Reply

