Mama’s Little Helper

12 08 2011

Carter went to visit Mimi & PopPop again in late July. Mimi decided it was time for him to earn his keep and put him right to work (yeah, right).

i got this mimi, you go lay on the couch

I was super pleased. I’ve been wondering when this kid was going to put in his fair share around the house. I mean, isn’t that why people have kids anyway (why hasn’t sarcasm font been invented yet)? His favorite activity is unloading the dishwasher. I guess he and Mimi had A LOT of fun with it. When I open the door to our dishwasher, the sound of those four little paws frantically rushing to the kitchen start. I have about 11 seconds to get whatever I need in or out of the dishwasher before the door has been pulled down and my 24 pound baby gets in. If he gets there just as I’m closing it back up a little fit starts (I didn’t know fits started at 10 months, what the???).

don't worry mama, the dishwasher door always creaked. don't show dad this, k?

He also enjoys the fruits of summer gardening (those are not our zucchini, a friend let us raid her garden. She had an … uh, abundance?).

mom. what in the world are these?

But every good gardener has to pull the weeds too.

bark and dirt taste good. why does mama keep saying good job?

Even though we live in the wet northwest, we still have to water our plants. We have dry spells! Like 4 days of no rain at a time!

it's like we're at the splash pad!

Once you are done pulling weeds and playing in the dirt, you need to wash and dry your clothes.

spin spin spin spin spin

But don’t worry, he gets some intense relaxation time with his new BFF, Stewie.

ahhhh, i've worked hard this week. this soft chair is warm. and funny.

And at all the local wading pools. He’s not so sure about this one. In fact, he turned tail and hauled out of there. Water on face = less than fun.

not relaxing, mom. not at all.

He prefers the deeper waters of the GL wading pool where he can splash and crawl without something spraying him.

My busy little bee is quite helpful in our daily chores. The house is sparkling like the top of the Chrysler building when Scott comes home to the aroma of a dinner cooked from scratch out of our organic vegetable garden and our child is quietly picking up all of his toys before he puts himself to bed and sleeps for 12 hours without a peep. *snort* What? I’m awake. Oh, sorry, I did drift off into dreamland.

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 08 2011
Mimi

LOL at the Woomera tshirt!

Seattle’s so much fun this time of the year–a lot more fun than hot, dry, dusty Texas!

13 08 2011
daddyoleo

When I bought that t-shirt I never thought my grandson would be wearing it one day. He and I will have to take a walkabout and visit there again.

Leave a Reply

